UEFA President Michel Platini is adamant that he wants to
reschedule the 2022 World Cup in Qatar to winter because temperatures can reach
up to 50°C in summer. When the ludicrous decision to let what is essentially a
sandbox host arguably one of the biggest sporting events in the world, a
statement on the Qatari bid site read:
So basically, the plan was to build air-conditioned stadiums so
that spectators and players could cope in the blistering middle-eastern heat.
But now, apparently that plan isn't good enough for Platini, who has now said:
First of all, I can't help
think he's being very optimistic thinking that there's going to be a lot of
fans there. Who in their right mind would want to travel over 3000 miles to a
country with not much to offer other than an abundance of oil?
In regards to this quote, it seems a fair point. However, the
problem which either Mr Platini hasn’t considered or he’s simply not bothered
about, is the fact that all the countries competing will have to change their
season schedule to have an extended winter break. The way the World Cup has
always worked, is that, holding it in summer, means that players have the short
break from the long previous season, and are then able to train with the
national team and improve match fitness. But with Platini’s ‘genius’ plan, Premier
League players will play between August to November, then have a month long
break to head to Qatar, then come back, and continue with the domestic league.
It’s just not logical. Managers need to be with the players every week to train
and come up with new tactics. To just break that system off for a month could
have a crippling effect on clubs. Of course, not only the players who are lucky
enough to be selected for their national team will be affected, but also the
ones who aren't. I presume they’re just supposed sit around, and do some personal
training for a month, and then instantly gain match fitness again when the rest
of the players return.
![]() |
| The moment when millions of people worldwide said "WHAT?!" |
The way things are
looking, with the amount of controversy surrounding the whole event; it seems
the 2022 World Cup has the potential to be an absolute washout. Whether it’s
allegations about bribery, disillusionment at the sheer fact Qatar won the bid,
worries about the laws of the country (We Brits know that beer and football go
hand in hand), and now this. I can’t help but think the fan turnout will be
extremely poor.
Here’s a clip of Ian Holloway talking about the same subject.
I have a lot of respect for him, and at times, it seems like he's the only
person left in football, that really cares about the way the game has and is
still going in.
And here's the
standard of football we can look forward to seeing from the Qatari National
squad:
Thanks for taking the time to read, and i'd love to hear other people's opinions on the subject.
Follow me at @danielwalls91



No comments:
Post a Comment